Towson wins League-Best Ninth CAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship

Towson wins League-Best Ninth CAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship

Bookmark and share

TOWSON, Maryland (May 4, 2024) – Top-seeded Towson defeated second-seeded Delaware 15-6 on Saturday afternoon at Johnny Unitas Stadium in Towson, Maryland, to win the program’s ninth CAA Men’s Lacrosse title – the most in conference history.

Towson improves to 13-3 this spring with its ninth straight win, wins its first league title since 2019 and receives the conference’s automatic qualifying bid for the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Selection Show is tomorrow at 9:30 p.m. Delaware finishes the year 9-5 after the setback.

Nick DeMaio set a single-game tournament record with six assists in the title game and was named CAA Championship Most Outstanding Player. DeMaio scored 14 points this weekend with three goals and 11 helpers – the most assists in a championship. Bode Maurer scored four goals for the team, added one assist and joined his teammate in the tournament team. Maurer – who had nine points from seven goals and two assists in the semi-finals – set the record for most goals in a tournament.

Colby Barsz led the defensive effort, which limited Delaware to a season-low six goals with three caused turnovers, earning his way to the all-tournament team.

The Tigers were impressive in all facets. Offensively, Towson outscored Delaware 42-27, including 27-12 on goal. Defensively, the Tigers forced the Blue Hens into 24 turnovers, while Delaware shot 15 of 25 on clear attempts, compared to 18 of 19 for Towson.

Towson scored three goals within 2:42 of each other in the first quarter on their way to a 4-1 lead in the first quarter and never looked back. Hak Gallagher opened the scoring for back-to-back goals from Maurer – the first coming 17 seconds after Gallagher’s count. John McCurry ended the run for Delaware, but Alex Vieni added one back for the Tigers with 12 seconds left in the opening stanza.

The Tigers kept the pressure on with five goals in the second, limiting Delaware to the fewest goals in the first half of a game this season to take a 9-3 lead at halftime. Maurer scored his second straight hat trick at 9:19 into the period, and Towson closed the half on a 3-0 spurt, setting up goals from Gallagher. Jos Webber And Mikey Weisshaar.

Towson put an exclamation point on the win with five goals in the third, putting the game out of reach after three with a 14-4 lead. The Tigers’ final goal came with one second left in the quarter, marking the third straight quarter that Towson has scored with less than 15 seconds left in the period.

Five Blue Hens found the back of the net, led by Tyler Owings with a few. JP district paced Delaware with three points on two goals and one assist.

After falling to Delaware in the conference tournament in consecutive seasons, Towson achieved the largest margin of victory in a CAA title game with its nine-goal victory. The Tigers outscored their opponents 33-14 during the championship run. The 33 goals are the second-most in a CAA tournament – ​​one shy of Towson’s 2019 goal.

2024 CAA Men’s Lacrosse All-Tournament Team

Nick DeMaio, Towson (MOP)

Colby Barsz, Towson

Luke Downs, Towson

Bode Maurer, Towson

Hank D’Ambrogi, Delaware

Kevin Ellington, Delaware

Mike Robinson, Delaware

Bryce Ford, Fairfield

Dean Ford, Fairfield

Liam Kammar, Drexel

Luke Tomak, Drexel

Follow #CAALax Facebook, Tweet and Instagram for up-to-date information and more information about CAA member institutions and their teams.